If you missed it last year, the way we do Battle of the Hacks is different from other hackathons you might have been part of. We bring together the 13 top university hackathon organizers in North America. Each puts together a team of their four top engineers. These four-person teams compete for votes from the judging panel, and ultimately the $25,000 sponsorship we put up for a hackathon to be hosted at the winning school.

Schedule of Events for Battle of the Hacks v 2.0 at Andreessen Horowitz HQ

Saturday, June 20th 2015

11:30am - Sign in | Lunch

1:00pm - Welcome & Intro

1:10pm - Debate

1:30pm - Hacking Begins

6:00pm - Dinner

9:00pm - Dessert

Sunday, June 21st 2015

12:00am - Midnight Snack

6:30am - Breakfast

11:30am - Hack Submissions Due | Lunch

12:00pm - Discussion

1:00pm - Presentations

2:30pm - Judging & Awards

3:00pm - End - Thank You!

Details for Hackers

Contacts: Dave Jagoda

Contacts: Jessica Hansen

Wifi: a16zhack PW: a16zhack

Social Media: @a16z #a16zBattle





All Team Members MUST Be An Organizer Of Your Hackathon


Please submit your hack by 11:30am on Sunday, June 21st

Hackathon Sponsors


$26,300 in prizes

First Place

The winning team will be awarded a $25,000 prize in the form of an a16z sponsorship for their next organization's hackathon.

Second Place - Myo Bands

The second place team will win four Myo bands for their hack organization's use.

Third Place - Leap Motions

The third place team will win four Leap Motions for their hack organization's use.

Devpost Achievements

Submitting to this hackathon could earn you:

How to enter

Hackers must submit their team's hacks by 11:30am on June 21st and be ready to present to the judges by 1pm.


Erin Teague

Erin Teague

Will Wolf

Will Wolf

Surabhi Gupta

Surabhi Gupta

Balaji Srinivasan

Balaji Srinivasan

Noah Snavely

Noah Snavely
University of Cornell

Nait Jones

Nait Jones

Judging Criteria

  • Best Hack

Tell your friends

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.